Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Mechanicsburg — Matt Campbell of Fawn Grove picked up his first career 410 sprint car win Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, taking the lead from Tim Wagaman on the 10th tour of the 25-lap feature.

The 19-year-old from Fawn Grove, a co-National 410 Rookie-of-the-Year last year, has been fast at the Grove before, and finally put together a complete performance, earning $3,600 for the win.

Wagaman started on the pole and led the opening two circuits of the 25-lap main event while racing fiercely with Jared Esh, who started second.

The pair see-sawed for the lead repeatedly before Esh crossed the line with three laps complete as the leader by just a few feet over Wagaman.

Wagaman then passed Esh back in the first and second turns, but Esh battled back to the inside on the backchute and the pair raced wheel-to-wheel and wing-to-wing into the third turn with neither pilot giving an inch.

The end result found Esh backing his car up across the racetrack in the third corner before bringing out the red flag after massive contact with the outside rail.

Esh was transported by ambulance complaining of neck and back pain.

Anthony Macri, who was running third at the time, spun to avoid the crash. Under the red flag, Brian Montieth, who would have restarted fourth, was pushed to the pits.

Wagaman controlled the restart with sixth-starter Campbell now in second and Wagaman was running the cushion as Campbell made the inside groove work to close in on the leader lap after lap, especially right through the middle of the second corner.

An inside move off the second corner got Campbell by Wagaman for the lead and Campbell completed Lap 10 as the leader just before the caution flew for a stopped Steve Buckwalter on the front chute.

Campbell stretched out his lead over Wagaman and Rick Lafferty on the restart as the race raged behind them between Lucas Wolfe, James McFadden, Freddie Rahmer and Brock Zearfoss who were all battling for a top five finish.

Campbell drove around slower cars with ease during the last half of the race, cruising to his first career Grove 410 win after scoring three in the 358 sprint division.

His final margin of victory was 4.578.

Wagaman scored his best career Grove finish in second. Lafferty finished third and Wolfe took fourth back from McFadden on the final lap.

Point leader Freddie Rahmer started 14th and finished sixth. Danny Dietrich, Brock Zearfoss, 17th starter Greg Hodnett and 22nd starter Alan Krimes rounded out the top 10.

Doug Hammaker of Grantville took the lead from Jordan Givler following a lap eight restart and drove away top win the 358 sprint feature.

Curt Michael wins last lap thriller

Abbottstown — Ocean View, DE driver Curt Michael showed why he is a nine-time URC champion Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway as he took advantage of a last lap restart to slide under race-leader Doug Hammaker in the final turns to the checkered and hang on to win the special 25-lap MACH 1 Trailer Services URC/358 Sprint Challenge. In the process Michael not only collected the $3,000 winners’ purse, but the bragging rights for winning the URC/358 Sprint Challenge.

The final lap drama was set up when a caution for debris was thrown as the leaders took the white flag with one lap to go. Sixth-starting Hammaker had taken the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Chris Coyle on the 15th lap and appeared to be on his way to the 25-lap feature win.

And the show didn’t stop with just the first and second place cars of Michael and Hammaker. 23rd-starting Tyler Ross advanced 20 positions after 25 laps to finish third. Early-race leader Coyle settled for fourth and 12th-starting Josh Weller fifth.

Completing the top-10 were 21st-starting Todd Gracey, Scott Fisher, 15th-starting Brent Shearer, Bryn Gohn, and 16th-starting Ashley Cappetta.

Heats for the 54 sprinters were won by Chris Allen, Jr., Chandler Leiby, Jeff Halligan, Gohn, and Hammaker. Twin consolation were won by Gracey and Steve Drevicki.

Jonestown’s Bryan Bernheisel was the class of the Precise Racing Products 358 Late Model field as he led all 20 laps from his pole position to pick-up his first career Lincoln Speedway win.

But the win was not easy as he had to hold off Gene Kanub, Bobby Beard, Cam Zeigler, and Robbie Emory over the closing laps for the win.

Completing the top-10 were Ryan Walls, Alan Sagi, Precise Racing Products Series point leader Travis Mease, Sean Merkel, and Bryon Sipe.

Heats for the 24 358 Late Models on hand were won by Bryan Bernheisel, Cam Zeigler and Bobby Beard.