Subscribe for 17¢ / day

MECHANICSBURG — Danny Dietrich inherited the lead when Rico Abreu blew a tire and went on to win the Jack Gunn Memorial Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, beating the All-Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars.

His win in the Gary Kauffman sprinter was worth $5,000.

“It’s great,” Dietrich said. “I’m proud of my guys. It’s great to be standing here again. We’ve had a rough season here and this might turn it around. This isn’t my kind of race track, but we had a fast car all night long. We were pretty good on the bottom.”

Lucas Wolfe and Abreu shared the front row to start the 30-lap main event. Abreu, who took the lead two turns into the race, reached slower traffic with six laps completed.

The heavy lapped traffic allowed Wolfe and Dietrich to close on the leader. Abreu blew a left rear tire in Turn 2 and spun, bringing out the caution with 18 laps completed.

“I was lucky enough to see it and get ready for it,” said Dietrich, who moved into second on Lap 10. “I wasn’t sure which way he was going to go. I’m glad I saw him when I did and I didn’t get into him and we were able to escape that.”

Dietrich assumed the lead and controlled the restart before Macri spun out with 11 to go, forcing a red flag.

Swindell finished 1.726 seconds back of Dietrich. Hodnett, 11th starter Lance Dewease and Wolfe completed the top five. 

Scott Ellerman won the 305 Sprint car feature over Austin Bishop, Bobby Butler, Jaremi Hanson and Zach Newlin. Ellerman took the lead early from Butler and then held him off over the second half of the race. Ellerman also clinched the Beerhill Cup Series for the 305s. 

Forsythe scores first Arctic Cat All-Star win

ABBOTTSTOWN — One thing can be said about Glenndon Forsythe’s first career All-Star Circuit of Champions win at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night. He earned it.

Forsythe joined Cory Haas on the front row of the 30-lap $5,000 to win feature by virtue of winning their respective dashes. Haas led the first lap, but Forsythe led the rest, holding several challengers through heavy lapped traffic, including a breathtaking move through three lapped cars to hold off Haas and Danny Dietrich through turns and four of lap 28.

Sprint heats were won by Shaffer, Ryan Smith, Dietrich, and Kemenah, with Chad Trout winning the B-Main. A pair of dashes were won by Haas and Forsythe, and fast time in time trials over the 40-car All Star Sprint field was set by Caleb Helms with a 1-lap time of 13.401-seconds (100.739 MPH).

Littlestown’s Mason Chaney made a last-turn pass on Lucas Montgomery and led the final 100 yards to score his third Lincoln win of the year and the fourth of his Lincoln career in the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature.

Heats for the 28 Central PA Legends were won by Travis Perry, Smith, and Leppo, with Zachary Settle winning the consolation.