More than 100 people braved sleet and snow to attend the house warming of the newly revamped YMCA building in downtown Carlisle.
The date was Jan. 22, 1929. Building committee members led guests on a top-to-bottom tour of the four-story structure at 25-27 W. High St.
A dinner was held in the new second-floor auditorium with food prepared in an expanded and well-equipped kitchen that used to be part of the men’s reading room and secretary’s office.
This week’s Tour Through Time showcases the transformation of this downtown building over the past 113 years from a two-story structure in 1905 to four stories in the 1920s to its current façade.
The changes unveiled in early 1929 were just one step in its evolution. The main exterior difference was the substitution of two side entrances for a single central entrance.
Extensive alterations were made to the exterior of this building 90 years ago to accommodate growth in YMCA programs.
The Sentinel reported that the first floor was made into a gymnasium with offices, two game rooms and six bowling alleys. The second floor housed an auditorium capable of seating 265 people, the kitchen and meeting rooms. The third and fourth floors housed 27 sleeping rooms.
This building is the current home of the Square Bean Carlisle coffee shop.
Tour Through Time runs every Saturday in The Sentinel print edition. Reporter Joseph Cress will work with staff at the Cumberland County Historical Society each week to offer a look at the county through the years. Send any questions, future ideas or tips to email@example.com.