This week’s Tour Through Time takes a look at the former Beetem silk mill building in Carlisle.
The R.N. Beetem Co. silk mill opened in October 1913 at its College and B Streets location in Carlisle. The mill operated until it went bankrupt during the depression. The building eventually became part of Carlisle Tire & Wheel Corp.
It now stands as the Wheelhouse building, home to apartments on the top floor and the home of The Sentinel this year.
Tour Through Time will run Saturdays in The Sentinel as a joint project with the Cumberland County Historical Society.
Sentinel Reporter Joseph Cress will work with staff at the Historical Society each week to offer a look at Carlisle and the surrounding area through the years.
Please contact the Cumberland County Historical Society at 717-249-7610 with any information pertaining to these images.
Please send future ideas or suggestions to firstname.lastname@example.org.