On August 9, 1974, President Richard M. Nixon became the first U.S. president to resign from office.

Facing damaging new revelations in the Watergate scandal, Nixon officially ended his term as the 37th president of the United States at noon.

A short time later, Vice President Gerald R. Ford was sworn in as the 38th president. After taking the oath of office, President Ford spoke to the nation in a television address, declaring, “My fellow Americans, our long national nightmare is over.”