Upset victory at Lincoln Speedway

2011-07-31T21:12:00Z 2011-07-31T21:16:04Z Upset victory at Lincoln SpeedwayBy Brad Vores, Sentinel Correspondent The Sentinel

Bill Stine scored an upset victory Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway.

Several times a year, one of the "little guys" is able to fend off all challenges, and Saturday night Stine was able to keep the field at bay to win his first career 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature at Lincoln.

The Mechanicsburg driver started on the front row, took the lead from Derek Sell on the seventh lap and drove to the $3,200 win aboard the Unique Images, Power Sports, Drinkin Bone, Beery Hill Gang No. 71X sprinter.

Sell finished in the runner-up spot ahead of Jim Siegel, Alan Krimes and Brian Leppo.

Kevin Nagy became the 13th different winner in 13 races this season in Lincoln 358 Sprint car action.

Nagy drove around race-long leader Chris Arnold on the 19th lap to take the win ahead of Arnold, Tim Berkheimer, Bree Hershey and Jeff Rohrbaugh.

Brian Diehl won his first career 20-lap thundercar feature over Larry Neiderer, Sam Gallagher, Al Crammer and Mike Slaybaugh.

Geesey takes first First Sportsman win

Wellsville driver Scott Geesey came from his eighth starting spot to score his first career 22-lap Super Sportsman feature win Saturday night at Williams Grove Speedway.

Geesey was dominating in his win, lapping all but the top 10 cars en route to the win over Carlisle's Chris Meleason, Rich Eichelberger, Scott Dellinger and Paul Miller.

Steve Clabaugh raced to his second win of the year in the 20-lap 358 late model main.

The Bonneville driver started fifth and dominated the event, scoring a straightaway win over points leader Gene Knaub, as well as Jake Jones, Bobby Beard and Ralph Morgan, Jr.

David Walsh became the first repeat winner in Williams Grove street stock competition with an exciting win in the 15-lap event.

Walsh won a last lap drag race to the finish over Doug Hoffman to pick up the win ahead of Hoffman, Greg Diehl, Jim Gross and John Greider.

Good run for Blankenship

John Blankenship turned in an impressive effort Saturday night to win the 50-lap Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Concocheague late model event at Hagerstown Speedway.

The West Virginia driver didn't get to complete a time trial due to mechanical woes, and then had to come through the B-main into the feature. He then started 17th in the A-Main and blasted his way to the front on lap 29 and drove off from the field to post the big $10,000 victory.

Jimmy Owens finished second ahead of Austin Hubbard, Earl Pearson Jr. and Jamie Lathroum.

Eddie McClellan won the pure stock feature over Kevin Koontiz and Wayne Hawbaker.

Another new Trailway winner

Randy Whisler used a 1996 Gambler chassis to score his first win of the season in Friday 358 Sprint car action at Trail-Way Speedway.

Whisler started fourth and took control on the sixth lap and raced to the win over Jeff Rohrbaugh, Mike Bittinger, Cris Eash and Tim Wagaman.

Doug Bennett won the Xtreme Stock car feature over Larry Landis and Randy May while Bobby Stough was the Central PA Legends winner over Bill Diehl and Lucas Montgomery.

Yoder takes Port late models

Selinsgrove regular Dylan Yoder invaded Port Royal Speedway for Saturday's Late Model Championship and scored the $1,500 payday.

Yoder took the lead on the second lap and never looked back in posting a straightway win at the checkered flag over Port points leader Scott Haus, Chris Shuey, Bob Dunn and Tim Wilson.

Tim Krape was the pro stock winner over Derrick Garman and John Heane.

Fourth win for Ehrhart

Dover's Justin Ehrhart recorded his fourth win of the season Saturday night at Susquehanna Speedway Park.

The current point leader started sixth and took the lead with three laps complete to score the win in the 25-lap 358 late model main over Alex Updegraff, Coleby Frye, Carlisle's Carl Billet and Gary Potts.

Dan Zechman won for the seventh time in street stock action over Scott Thunberg, Randy Zechman, Doug Bennett and Jimmy Slaseman.

Donnie Broderick picked up the Xtreme Stock car feature over Patrick McClane and Ricky Bender while Reed Salony scored the Sidewinder Micro Sprint win over Seth Kearchner, Joe Robertson, Mike Kiser and Donnie Hendershot.

Pit stops

Tyler Walker and the Keen Motorsports sprint car team are headed to Knoxville(Iowa) Raceway early in preparation for the upcoming Knoxville Nationals. Walker nearly pulled off the 410 Sprint car win on Saturday.He started sixth in the field and took the lead on lap seven.

But Knoxville regular Dusty Zomer used a final lap pass on Walker to score the 20-lap win. Walker finished second.

Randy West picked up his second win of the season in URC Sprint action Saturday at Delaware International Speedway over Curt Michael, Kramer Williamson, Robbie Stillwaggon and Josh Weller.

Tyler Walton claimed his fifth win of the year Saturday at Trail-Way Speedway in 600 Micro Sprint action. Walton defeated Tim Dietz, Jeremy Glass, Travis Scott and Kameron Morral. Michael Ertter won the 270 Micros over Cory Myers, Steven Cox, Jim Still and Nik Gower while Tim Henry won the Central PA Legends over Scott Houdeshell and Bobby Stough.

Friday night racing at Williams Grove and Bedford speedways was canceled due to rain.

Copyright 2015 The Sentinel. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Follow Sentinel Sports

The Sentinel Sports Staff

Sports Editor Jeff Pratt

Sports Editor Jeff Pratt


Twitter: @SentinelPratt

Phone: 717-240-7139

Assistant Sports Editor Jake Adams

Assistant Sports Editor Jake Adams


Twitter: @jakeadams520

Phone: 717-218-0027

Reporter Kathryn Fitzgerald

Reporter Kathryn Fitzgerald


Twitter: @KRaynFitzgerald

Phone: 717-218-0037

Report Scores

The Sentinel sports desk is staffed 6 p.m. until midnight seven days a week. To report scores:

Call the sports desk at 717-240-7106. Scores must be reported before 10 p.m. each night to make the next day's print edition. Scores reported after 10 p.m. will run online and in the following day's print edition.

Email results to

You may also contact the sports staff through:

Facebook: The Sentinel Sports

Twitter: @Clink_Sports