ABBOTTSTOWN — What a difference a night makes.

One night after crashing on the final lap at Grandview Speedway, San Jose, California’s Thomas Meseraull claimed the $6,000 top prize in race No. 2 of the Amsoil USAC wingless sprint car Eastern Storm tour at Lincoln Speedway Wednesday night.

It was Meseraull’s second overall win of the year and fifth USAC win of his career.

Meseraull drove around polesitter and race-long leader Jarett Andretti to take the lead on lap six and drove away from the field to a four and-a-half second win over Andretti, who scored his best-ever USAC finish. Third through fifth were Kevin Thomas Jr., Chad Boesphlug and Chris Windom.

Sixth through 10th were Tyler Courtney, Shane Golobic, C.J. Leary, Kyle Robbins and Jerry Coons Sr. Alex Bright was the hard charger after coming from 22nd staring spot to finish 11th. In the end, 17 of the 22 starters finished on the lead lap, and leading 2017 Lincoln winner Danny Dietrich was the only car which failed to finish.

Heats for the USAC Sprinters were won by Golobic, Windom and Aaron Farney. Robert Ballou won the B-Main. And fast time in time trials over the 28-car USAC field was set by Justin Grant with a one-lap time of 15.874 seconds (85.055 mph).

Brie Hershey got the monkey off her back by becoming the ninth winner in nine races so far this year in the 20-lap 358 sprint car feature. Hershey started on the pole beside Ashley Cappetta and was never caught. It was Hershey’s fourth career Lincoln win.

Points leader Adrian Shaffer started fourth and was scored second every lap, with Phil Walter, Brent Shearer and Cappetta rounding out the top five. Sixth through tenth were Doug Hammaker, Tyler Ross (in a backup Tom Rumsey car), Kyle Denmyer, Ryan Higgins and Todd Rittenhouse Jr.

Heats for the 358 sprints were won by Walter, Shaffer and Hammaker, with Rittenhouse winning the consolation.


Load comments