MECHANICSBURG — Kody Swanson didn’t lead the most laps in the Horn-Schindler Memorial for the USAC Silver Crown cars Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway, but he led when it counted the most.

Swanson, of Carmel, Ind., drove by race-long leader Damion Gardner with 16 laps to go in the 100-lap main event and scored his 17th career Silver Crown win tying him for second all-time. The win was worth $8,000. 

California’s Gardner started on the pole and quickly began to build a lead. With 10 laps completed, Gardner’s lead was 4.30 seconds over Justin Grant and Jerry Coons Jr. 

Two-time Silver Crown champion and current series point leader Swanson grabbed third from Coons as Gardner’s lead was now 6 seconds. 

Gardner continued to blast through the field building a 9.29 second lead by the 30-lap mark. Swanson closed the gap on Grant for second. 

Swanson scored the win by 2.155 seconds over Gardner and Coons. 

Windom and Bacon completed the top five. Joe Liguori, Patrick Bruns, Austin Nemire, Grant, and Shane Cockrum rounded out the top 10.

Pennsylvania drivers Mark Smith, Steve Buckwalter and Dave Berkheimer participated in the event. Smith finished 11th, Buckwalter 13th and Berkheimer 18th. 

Gardner set quick time with a lap of 20.430. It was close, but not a track record which was set last year at 20.379. Windom, Cockrum, Grant and Leary followed Gardner in qualifying results. 

Carrick, Tanner Thorson, Spencer Bayston and Ryan Robinson completed the top five. Holly Shelton, Ryan Greth, PJ Garguilo, Shawn Jackson and Kenny Miller rounded out the top 10. 

Robinson and Bacon won the heat races. 

Lucas Wolfe makes last-race pass to win BAPS Night Feature

ABBOTTSTOWN — June 17, 2017 – Lucas Wolfe took advantage of one of his few opportunities in lapped traffic with just over a lap to go to score the $4,200 top prize in Saturday’s BAPS Night 410 sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway.

Sixth through tenth were Danny Dietrich, Chad Trout, Tim Glatfelter, Billy Dietrich, and Robbie Kendall.

Heats for the “410” Sprints were won by Kendall, Billy Dietrich, and Haas. Fast time in time trials over the 21-car 410 sprint field was set by Wolfe with a one-lap time of 13.624-seconds (99.090 MPH).

Dillsburg’s Chris Arnold became the tenth different winner in ten 2017 “358” sprint car events after starting eighth and taking the race lead from outside front row starter and race-long leader Mike Bittinger following a lap four restart.

Arnold picked up a $300 bonus from BAPS to round out his $1,300 win, the third of his career at Lincoln.

Points leader Adrian Shaffer continued his streak of top five finishes by crossing second. Third through fifth were 11th-starting Doug Hammaker, Cody Fletcher, and Bittinger. Sixth through tenth were polesitter Landon Myers, Todd Rittenhouse, Jr., Matt Findley, Brie Hershey, and Brent Shearer.

Heats for the 23 “358” Sprints were won by Chris Frank, Shaffer, and Fletcher.


Load comments