Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced the names Tuesday of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

These high school seniors have an opportunity to compete for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level, and in February they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments and potential for success in college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin or religious preference.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2018 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July.

Here are semifinalists selected from Sentinel area schools:

Camp Hill High School

Burns, Angela E.

Carlisle High School

Checkett, Aidan J.

Cumberland Valley High School

Chemmanoor, Thomas P.

Dengler, John T.

Gupta, Harshita

Haver, John F.

Nawaz, Haroon M.

Negandhi, Krittika H.

Su, Anthony M.

East Pennsboro High School

DeMarchis, Nicholas E.

Harrisburg Academy

Chaddock, William H.

Northern High School

Cornett, Hannah K.

Red Land High School

Smith, Erin C.

Trinity High School

DeFrancesco, Cora A.

Novacich, Jared W.

Weiss, Laura I.

Witten, Elizabeth A.

West Shore Christian Academy

Werner, Reagan H.