You are the owner of this page.
A1 A1
John Raoux  

FILE—In this Dec. 9, 2013, file photo, two-time Cy Young Award winner Roy Halladay answers questions after announcing his retirement after 16 seasons in the major leagues with Toronto and Philadelphia at the MLB winter meetings in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. Authorities have confirmed that former Major League Baseball pitcher Roy Halladay died in a small plane crash in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of Florida, Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2017.

top story
Cumberland County
GOP incumbents win county row offices

Countywide results from last night’s general election were pretty much as expected.

Roughly a quarter of Cumberland County’s registered voters — 41,732 out of 167,571 registered — turned out for the off-year races, which mostly featured municipal and school board contests.

The only countywide positions up for grabs were row offices, which were swept by Republican candidates, most of them incumbents.

Recorder of Deeds Tammy Shearer, Clerk of Criminal Court Denny Lebo and Register of Wills Lisa Grayson were re-elected, each at roughly 60-40 ratios versus Democratic challengers.

Republican Dale Sabadish won the race for prothonotary — a position that is essentially the clerk for civil court — with roughly the same ratio. Sabadish was the only nonincumbent winner for row offices Tuesday night, as the current prothonotary, Dave Buell, chose not to seek another term.

County Sherriff Ronny Anderson, Coroner Charlie Hall and Controller Al Whitcomb all ran unopposed.

Lebo has been involved in a long-running dispute with the county commissioners over personal use of county email and political activities done on county time. On Tuesday, Lebo said he felt vindicated in his re-election.

“Very much so, given that my [vote] returns are very similar to everyone else on the ballot,” Lebo said. “I’ve been under a lot of criticism, most of it unfair. I’m grateful that the people of Cumberland County saw through that.”

Elected row officers are partially funded by the state and are quasi-independent from the rest of the county government. Many of their operating costs, however, are paid for by the county’s general fund.

Although some areas of the county have seen a leftward political shift since 2016, Republican candidates generally hold an advantage in countywide contests given the strong straight-party voting turnout for the GOP.

Roughly a quarter of all votes cast in Cumberland County on Tuesday — 10,551 out of 41,732 — were straight-party Republican.

top story
Landis, Fulham-Winston win seats on Carlisle Borough Council; Scott wins second mayoral term

Tim Scott has been elected to his second term as mayor of Carlisle.

Deb Fulham-Winston and Brenda Landis have also been elected to four-year terms on the borough council in a race for two open seats.

Sean Shultz was also elected to a two-year seat on the council, but was unopposed in his race for that open seat.

Scott, a Democrat, won 2,103 votes, easily topping Republican Scott Robinson’s 714 in unofficial returns. Robinson is in Cumberland County Prison on burglary and assault charges.

Scott was elected to his first term as mayor in 2013, after having served on the borough council since 2002.

“I am truly honored that our Carlisle community has entrusted me with another term to continue growing our economy, empowering our neighborhoods, keeping our streets safe, and doing so through an innovative borough government,” Scott said in an email. “Good government means keeping promises to people. That is what I have done, and that is what I will continue to do.”

In her first run at elected office, Democrat Brenda Landis garnered the most votes with 1,797. Deb Fulham-Winston, also a Democrat, was close behind with 1,743 votes.

Republicans Chris Wyman and Marella A. Dias, both Republicans, earned 1,092 and 991 votes respectively.

Fulham-Winston had been appointed to the borough council in February to fill a vacancy left by Connie Bires, who was elected in 2015 and stepped down from the council in December 2016.

“I am just delighted. I have greatly enjoyed serving for this year and learning immense amounts about how the borough is working, and how everything is so positive and being able to continue in that direction,” Fulham-Winston said.

She also said she is looking forward to working with Landis “who will bring serious skills to the council.”

“I’m proud that I was able to prove that you could run a creative campaign based on principles of environmental and economic sustainability and win.”

Landis said. “My campaigning methods were unconventional compared to traditional models, but my years of work in the community has connected me to Carlisle residents in a more authentic way. I am humbled and thankful for the outpouring of support I have received from folks in Carlisle.”

Contested mayor races decided

In what was one of the more unusual races in Tuesday’s election in Cumberland County, Republican Douglas Morrow beat his Democrat opponent Natalie Gehosky for mayor of New Cumberland.

Gehosky passed away in late October but remained on the ballot for Tuesday’s election.

Morrow garnered 1,015 votes compared to Gehosky’s 694 votes, according to unofficial results from the Cumberland County Bureau of Elections.

More than 680 votes were cast for Gehosky Tuesday, according the bureau.

Republicans claimed three of the four contested mayoral races in Cumberland County outside of Carlisle Tuesday.

In Camp Hill, Republican incumbent Mark Simpson garnered 1,376 votes, besting Democrat Debbie Smith, who received 1,063 votes, according to the Bureau of Elections.

Republican Randy Finkey topped Democrat Lysa Wright for mayor of Newville. Finkey received 130 votes to Wrights 43, according to the bureau.

David Beasley was the lone Democrat outside of Carlisle to win a contested mayor race in the county. With 491 votes Beasley beat Republican Jon Gilge, who garnered 403 votes, to become mayor of Lemoyne, according to the bureau.

Across the river, incumbent Harrisburg Mayor Eric Papenfuse held off a write-in campaign by Republican Gloria Martin-Roberts.

Papenfuse garnered more than 3,700, while only 501 write-in votes were cast Tuesday, according to the Dauphin County Bureau of Elections and Voter Registration.


Carlisle Schools
Incumbents retain seats on Carlisle school board

Voters have retained four incumbents to the board of directors for Carlisle Area School District.

Deborah L. Sweaney and Anne H. Lauritzen, who both cross-filed, received the most votes in unofficial results with 4,399 votes and 4,345 votes respectively.

Republicans Rick Coplen and Brian J. Guillaume were also returned to their seats on the board with 3,413 votes and 3,087 votes respectively.

Democrat Julie W. Lesman received 2,725 votes, and fellow Democrat Kitzi Chappelle received 2,449 votes.




Mount Holly Springs
New faces to join Mount Holly Springs borough council

The Mount Holly Spring Borough Council likely will have four new faces, as Pamela Still, the lone incumbent who sought reelection, appears to have lost her seat.

Still garnered 141 votes in Tuesday’s election, according to unofficial results from the Cumberland County Bureau of elections.

However, this put her in fifth place vying for one of four seats on the borough council.

Cathy Neff led the pack with 253 votes, followed by Cynthia Goshorn and Sherry Boyles with 244 votes each, and Katie Daniels took the final seat with 160 votes, according to Cumberland County Bureau of Election’s unofficial votes Tuesday night.

The four winners will take over seats on the borough council currently held by Still, Matthew Hockley, Lois Stoner and Leroy Shildt.

Hockley, Stoner and Shildt did not seek reelection.

Goshorn, Neff, Boyles and Daniels will join Deborah Halpin-Brophy, Edgar Kendall and James Collins on the borough council in January.

Halpin-Brophy, Kendall and Collins’s terms expire in 2019.